Let’s not just say we’ll never forget, let’s actually do it.

I remember where I was when the twin towers went down.

I grew up in Long Island, a mere 30 minutes drive from midtown NYC. My parents worked in the city, and my mother’s office was 2 blocks from the World Trade Center.

On that day, I was in 7th grade. 12 years old. I was in bio, and a teacher came and pulled Ms. Colchamiro out of class. She came back in noticably shaken. 20 minutes later, my babysitter at the time, Amy, came to school to get me.

“You mean they didn’t tell you?” she demanded, pulling me down the concrete pathway to the parking lot.

I was riveted to the TV when I got home. How are my parents? WHERE are my parents? What do I do? Am I going to school tomorrow? It was one of the scariest moments of my life; to see those pictures of people walking away covered in dust, coughing and crying from the World Trade Center. (Luckily, my parents were at meetings nowhere near the towers and caught the last train out of midtown and were safely in our den by 3 PM that day.)

But this post isn’t about reminiscing. It isn’t. This post is about what this anniversary is calling out for us to do.
9/11/01 was the day that I became politically active. It was the day when I realized that there is something bigger and more important in this world than me and what outfit I was going to wear to school that day.

This day is a call to action. It’s a call to remind ourselves of the political issues that face our nation and that we can do something about it.

I’m going to recommit myself to equality for all people in this country. I vow to attend all protests I can this semster for equality for marriage, for civil rights; and to recommit myself to environmental causes.

So what are you going to do? Speak up, make yourself heard. Because after all – that’s why this country is so great.

Tags: , , , ,

About beckawall

AU Alumni, feminist, master of peanut butter brownies. Lover of Teddy Roosevelt, politics, analyzing popular culture, and general nerdery.

One response to “Let’s not just say we’ll never forget, let’s actually do it.”

  1. steve says :

    Letting those responsible know that there are really those that won’t forget…
    And are coming forward…
    http://www.bibliotecapleyades.net/sociopolitica/esp_sociopol_911_111.htm

Leave a Reply

